Coweta County Schools

  • Full Screen
  • Wide Screen
  • Narrow Screen
  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

School Board Information

The Board of Education is a policy-making body charged by law with the responsibility of the administration and operation of the schools of Coweta County. It is composed of seven members elected by the registered voters of the county. Five are elected from districts, and two are elected countywide. Board members voted to receive no compensation for their services.

All meetings are open to the public.

School Board Members

The Coweta County Board of Education members now have system email accounts to provide the community with digital access to them.

Amy Dees - District 001
P.O. Box 280, Newnan, GA 30264

1st District (southeastern Coweta): Eastside Elementary School, Thomas Crossroads Elementary School, Willis Road Elementary School, East Coweta Middle School, Lee Middle School, and East Coweta High School.

Sue Brown - District002
147 Glenmar Drive
Newnan, GA 30263

2nd District (southwestern Coweta): Glanton Elementary School, Moreland Elementary School, Poplar Road Elementary School, and Western Elementary School.

Beth Barnett - District 003
73 Park View Drive
Newnan, GA 30263

3rd District (northwestern and north central Coweta): Arnco-Sargent Elementary School, Arbor Springs Elementary School, Brooks Elementary School, Elm Street Elementary School, Northside Elementary School, Evans Middle School, Madras Middle School, and Maggie Brown School.
Linda Menk - District 004
70 White Oak Drive
Newnan, GA  30265

4th District (northeastern Coweta): Canongate Elementary School, White Oak Elementary School, Arnall Middle School, Northgate High School.
Winston Dowdell - District 005
P.O. Box 982
Newnan, GA 30264

5th District (central Coweta): Atkinson Elementary School, Jefferson Parkway Elementary School, Newnan Crossing Elementary School, Ruth Hill Elementary School, Welch Elementary School, Smokey Road Middle School, Winston Dowdell Academy, Newnan High School, the Central Educational Center.
At Large Members (All Schools)
Frank Farmer
28 Brookside Drive
Newnan, GA 30263

Larry Robertson
73 Moore Road
Newnan, GA  30263

The Coweta County Board of Education meets on the second Tuesday of each month, 6:30 p.m., at 237 Jackson Street in Newnan.  Above, left to right, front row, Coweta County Board of Education members: Vacancy (3rd District), Frank Farmer (At-Large, Vice-Chair), Amy Dees (1st District), Sue Brown (2nd District); back row, Larry Robertson (At-Large), Winston Dowdell (2nd District), Linda Menk (4th District), Coweta County Superintendent Dr. Steve Barker, Assistant Superintendent Dr. Marc Guy.

Meeting Dates and Locations

Date Time Location Agenda
Tuesday, January 13, 2015 6:30 p.m. Jackson Street Agenda
Tuesday, February 10, 2015 6:30 p.m. Jackson Street Agenda 
Tuesday, March 10, 2015 6:30 p.m. Jackson Street Agenda
Tuesday, April 14, 2015 6:30 p.m. Jackson Street Agenda
Tuesday, May 12, 2015 6:30 p.m. Jackson Street Agenda
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
6:30 p.m.
Jackson Street
Tuesday, July 14, 2015 6:30 p.m. Jackson Street Agenda
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
6:30 p.m. Jackson Street Agenda
Called School Board Meetings

Board Meeting Archives

Budget Information

Budget, Financial, and SPLOST Information


Board of Education Meetings - Addressing the Board

In order to improve communication between the Board of Education (BOE) and the citizens of Coweta County, the BOE encourages citizens to attend regularly scheduled board meetings and speak on matters of general public education concerns.

Forty-five minutes will be set aside for this purpose at each BOE meeting, starting at 7:15 p.m.

Please read, sign, and submit the rules/sign-up sheet to Connie Hanson or Dean Jackson to speak at regular board business meetings. Completed sign-up sheets should be faxed to Connie Hanson at 770-254-2807 and may also be submitted in person before the board meeting. Note: Those who wish to submit their sign-up sheet at the board meeting should still notify Connie Hanson or Dean Jackson via e-mail or phone for scheduling purposes.

To sign up to speak, call or e-mail Connie Hanson (770-254-2801) or Dean Jackson (770-254-2736).

Please give your name, school and a brief description of your topic.